Networking: It’s really not that bad!

As a recent law school graduate, I remember listening to the endless advice in school of “network, network, network!” and trying my hardest to tune it out because, let’s face it, talking to strangers can be scary. However, I’m here now (about a year into my efforts to proactively network) to tell you two things: 1) it turns out strangers aren’t that scary (and a lot of networking isn’t with people you’ve just met), and 2) networking is vitally important for students pursuing public service careers!

Particularly in the public interest arena, word of  job openings can spread through a grapevine, and not all open positions are formally announced.  Anna Marshall wrote six great tips for students about networking in the November, 2009 NALP Bulletin. I’ll just add my emphasis on using your personal network (friends, family, colleagues, former employers) – I probably wouldn’t have the fellowship I have now if my former employer hadn’t told me about it.

Anna’s second tip uses the phrase “genuinely interested,” which is crucial when talking with people you’ve just met. I’ve found that most people really enjoy their work and are excited to talk about it with someone who has a genuine interest in the field. It doesn’t feel like schmoozing when you’re having a conversation about a topic you both find interesting (and information that comes up about job possibilities ends up feeling like a natural progression, not forced).

A final tip I’d add is to seek out formal mentorship programs at your school or in your area. Many bar associations have mentoring programs for new attorneys, and most law schools have either formal or informal networking opportunities through the careers services office or the alumni affairs office. These can be a great way to meet new people who can be very helpful in your job search without having to necessarily seek them out yourself.

So to sum up – all that advice you keep hearing about networking is true, it really can be the missing piece in your job search and play an important role in your career development. And it turns out to be a fun way to meet new people, explore areas you know and areas that are new to you, and further your career all at the same time.

-Katie Dilks, PSLawNet Fellow

1 Comment »

  1. Andy said

    Amen to that! I wish somebody had explained to me earlier that “networking” is not a secret skill that only MBAs and their ilk have, nor a special activity (“let’s go network now!”). Networking, rather, is a buzzword that the MBAs invented to mean socializin! If you socialize with people in your field, and make a point of keeping in touch with your professional acquaintances, you’re networking! How simple is that? Wait, when I go to the bar association’s christmas party and drink with the local lawyers, that’s networking? Well I can do that!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment